top of page



1859 The House That Jack Built (Theatre Royal)

Estelle Vernon

Jessie Ryder

Louisa Angel

1885 Robinson Crusoe (Theatre Royal)

Vesta Tilley

1904 Babes in the Wood (Theatre Royal)

1921 The Queen of Hearts (Theatre Royal)

G S Melvin as King of Hearts

Eddie Garr as Queen of Hearts

Harry Weldon as Knave of Hearts

Bice O'Neill as Queen of Diamonds

Bogie Lambert as Knave of Clubs

Sydney Russell as The Joker

Wat Tyler as The Herald

Christine Roy as The Prince

Billie Browne as Margery - Queen of the May

Enid Marshall as Phoebe

with Mdlee Listakova, Nona Lyn, Lutie Griffiths, Ada Hurcum, The Griffiths Brothers and The Dainty Dances

Devised and Written by Philip Rodway

Additional Lyrics by Tom H Townson

Music speciality composed by Harvey Rushworth

Opened 26th December 1921


1923 Old King Cole (Theatre Royal)

Clarkson Rose as Old King Cole
Olive Fox as Quilini
Florence Hunter as Amaryllis

The Hanlon Brothers as Snip & Snap

Tom D Newall as Mother Hubbard

Byrk Walkley as Ronald

Fred Conquest as Fido

Victor Fairley as Colonol Bogey

Ethel Alderson as The Pixie

Leonta Proctor as Fairy Flora


Devised & Written by Philip Rodway

1932 Dick Whittington (Theatre Royal)

Elaine Trevor as Fairy Bowbells
Herbert Langley as The Demon Rat

Gwladys Stanley as Dick Whittington

Jimmy Young as Alderman Fitzwarren

Florence Hunter as Alice Fitzwarren

Marjorie Macklin as Lord Algy

Reginald Jecks as The Emperor of Morocco

Fred Whittaker as The Cat

George Doonan as Jack

A W Baskcomb as Selina The Cook

1932 Birmingham Theatre Royal.png

1936 Puss in Boots (Theatre Royal)

Fred Gwyn as Queen Goslina

Jimmie Leslie as King Herbert

Marjorie Lotinga as Princess Rowena

Roy Jefferies as Plonk

De Haven as Carolus

Sandy Powell as Sandy


Opened 17th February 1936

Produced by Tom Arnold

1936 Birmingham Theatre Royal.png

1938 Sleeping Beauty (Theatre Royal)

Gordon Whelan as Chamberlain

Frank Attree as Maligna The Wicked Queen

Mary Thornley as The Good Fairy

Bunny Doyle as Rudolph

Tom Gamble as The Queen

Albert Darnley as The King

Hazel Jennings as Princess Beauty

Winnie Braemar as Trixie

Jack Edlin as Clown

Evelyn Laye as The Prince

Opened 23rd January 1939


1939 Theatre Royal Birmingham.png

1939 Babes in the Wood (Theatre Royal)

Anne Bolt as Maid Marion

Bert Platt as Baron Baddun

Clarkson Rose as Nurse Merryweather

Ethel Revenell as Ethel

Gracie West as Gussie

Helen Breen as Robin Hood

Charles Cornford as Friar Tuck

Billy Danvers as Jack O Green

Shirley Belmore as Fairy Sunbeam


Opened 23rd December 1939

Produced by Tom Arnold

1939 Birmingham Theatre Royal.png

1942 Cinderella (Alexandra)

Noele Gordon as Prince Charming

June Malo as Dandini

Percy Manchester as Baron Broke

Claire Ruane as Marlene

Jenny Hayes as Ramona

Billie Baker as Cinderella

George Doonan as Buttons

Louise Javotte as Fairy Godmother


Produced by David Cochran

1942 Birmingham Alexandra.png

1943 Aladdin (Theatre Royal)

Afrique as Abanazar
Marjorie Matthews as Slave of the Ring

John Farries Moss as The Great Roc

Hazel Jennings as Aladdin

James Heys as The Vizier

Melville Birley as The Emporer

Tom Gamble as Widow Twankey

Dicky Hassett as Pekoe

Mavis Hill as Princess

Collinson & Breen as The Pekin Policeman Li Hi and Li Ho


Produced by Julian Wylie Productions Ltd

1943 Birmingham Theatre Royal.png

1944 Robinson Crusoe (Theatre Royal)

Betty Frankiss as Robinson Crusoe

Sybil Summers as Polly Perkins

Henry Ford as Billy Crusoe

Nat Jackley as Will Atkins

Eddie Henderson as Mrs Crusoe

Murray & Mooney as 1st & 2nd Mate

G H Elliott as Sambo

Richard Beamish as Bosun

George Fairweather as Cannibal King

Harry Eades as Man Friday

1944 Birmingham Theare Royal.png

1947 Babes in the Wood (Alexandra)

Lisa Lee as Robin Hood

Neville Mapp as Friar Tuck

Eunice Hinsley as Labourer

Jack Elmont as The Sheriff of Nottingham

Tommy Jover as Dame Trot

Hermene French as Maid Marion

Oliver Hardwicke as Will Scarlett

Wynn Dyson as Alan A-Dale

Michael Langdon as Little John

Kenneth Dougherty as Much the Miller's Son

Eddie Connor as Little Billy

Judith Whitaker as Fairy Starlight

Neville Mapp as King Richard


1948 Puss in Boots (Theatre Royal)


1952 Dick Whittington (Alexandra)

Gerry Lee as Tidleywinks

Julie David as Alice Fitzwarren

Gordon Craig as Sarah the Cook

Jimmy Plant as Alderman Fitzwarren

Jimmy Wheeler as Idle Jack

Jean Inglis as Dick Whittington

Anthony Sagar as King Rat

Tilsa Page as Fairy Rosebud

Ida Sheepley The Queen of Cantana

Walter Myersonas Town Crier


1953 Puss in Boots (Theatre Royal)

Jimmy Jewel

Beb Warriss

Fay Lenore

Jack Hayes

Fred Kitchen

June Rose

George Hamilton

1953 Aladdin (Alexandra)

Joe Black as Wishee Washee

George Sylvestor as Emperor

Jean Inglis as Aladdin

Clarkson Rose as Widow Twankey

Rosemary Banks as Spirit of the Ring

Shirley Brett as Princess

Tudor Evans as Abanazar

Brian Blades as Genie

Produced by Derek Salberg

1954 Humpty Dumpty (Theatre Royal)

Norman Evans

Betty Jumel


1955 Old King Cole (Theatre Royal)

Andy McFarlane

Robert Marlowe

Vanda Vale

Billy Sutton

Gordon Bellingham

Beryl Foley

Mary Forbes

Harry Shiels


1955 Robinson Crusoe (Alexandra)

Tessie O'Shea

Louis Holt

The Melomaniacs

4 Graham Brothers

Arthur Sumner

Charles Rowley

Ossie Noble

Nemecs and Violet

This production opened 27th December 1955

Produced by Harry Bright

1956 Babes in the Wood (Alexandra)

Terry Hall

William Avenell

Jack Stanford

Charles Harrison

Les Henry

Jimmy Prescott

Eric Yorke

Julia Sutton

Gillian Taylor

Lynette Mills

Anthony  Spurling

1957 Jack and the Beanstalk (Hippodrome)

Beryl Reid

Reg Dixon

Freddie Frinton


1958 Robinson Crusoe (Hippodrome)
Harold Holness

David Whitfield

David Williams

Philip Ashley

1959 Aladdin (Hippodrome)

Norman Evans as Widow Twankey

Dickie Valentine as Wishee Washee

Eve Boswell as Aladdin

Philip Morant as Abanazar

Ramoni Brothers

Sheila Henderson as So-Shi

Grace O'Connor as Princess Yasmin

William Dickie as Emporer

Alan Curtis as Kamar

Jackie Lester as Grand Vizier

David Kirk as Genie


1960 Sleeping Beauty (Hippodrome)

Jimmy Jewel as The King

Ben Warriss as Presto the Jester

Betty Emery as Fairy Florizel

Dorothy Dampier as Carabosse

James Hinson as Chamberlin

Virginia Vernon as Princess Melanie

Ernest Arnley as The Queen

Charles Harris as The Wizard

Bruce Trent as Prince Michael


1960 Sinbad the Sailor (Alexandra)

George Lacy

Morecombe & Wise 

Johnny Stewart

Three Geezers

The Four Playboys  

1961 Cinderella (Hippodrome)

Lonnie Donegan

Danny La Rue

Alan Haynes


1961 Aladdin (Alexandra)

Edmund Hockridge

Joe Church

Tommy Rose

The Patton Brothers

Martin Dell

Atlas Sahara

1962 Robinson Crusoe (Hippodrome)

Norman Wisdom


1962 Mother Goose (Alexandra)

Beryl Reid

Frank Ifield

The Dallas Boys

Jack Tripp